Workshops

Next “Zoom” Workshop

Thursday April 18, 2024 – 1 pm (EDT)

“Social Media for the Rural Church”

Facilitated by The United Church of Canada Digital Team.

A presentation and discussion with members of The United Church of Canada Digital Team, Cara Czech, Rev. Stephen Fetter, and Aaron Gallegos.

Join us for a presentation and Q&A discussion with members of The United Church of Canada Digital Team on using social media in the context of rural ministry, discovering the most effective means of communication for your rural church, and a look at some of the best practices in social media and digital communications, including the potential and pitfalls of a variety of online platforms. This presentation offer a time of discussion on both the “how” and “why” to use digital communications in your church.

Register for the Workshop

If you have a topic you would like us to consider and know of a facilitator to lead your topic, let us know at editor@ucrmn.ca

We follow the Rural Cafe format, which you can learn more about in the video below. We invite you to host your workshop using any and all of our resources here. If we can be of any help, don’t hesitate to contact us at info@ucrmn.ca.

Past Workshops

Thursday February 15, 2024 – 1 pm EST, 12 pm CST, 11 am MST, 10 am PST, 2 pm AST

“Lifelong Learning”
Facilitated by St. Andrew’s College, Saskatoon

St. Andrew’s College in Saskatoon (Treaty Six Territory) has a long history of equipping folks for the realities of rural ministry, in all its many and diverse forms. As you in the United Church Rural Ministry Network know, so deeply in your bones, the needs of our rural churches are changing and intensifying. More and more of our faith communities are unable to afford even part-time forms of professional ministry, and we are coming to rely on our own people for leadership. In many ways, that is a blessing! But at St. Andrew’s we also hear that folks desire training and support as they grow more deeply into leadership roles involving worship and preaching, education, pastoral care, and other forms of congregational leadership. LLWLs, Sacraments Elders, Congregationally Designated Ministers, care teams, outreach and youth ministry folks … as well as DLMs, VAMs, and Order of Ministry … everyone could use some help gaining skills in community! That’s where the College comes in.

St. Andrew’s College Lifelong Learning Educational Coordinator, Dr. Bernon Lee and College Recruitment Ambassador Shawn Sanford Beck shared information and answered questions about lifelong learning.

The workshop provided an opportunity to suggest what learnings we would like for Rural Ministry.

“Pastoral Care to the Rural Church”

  • The workshop was held on November 16 with facilitation led by Kathy Douglas from the Antler River Watershed Regional Council.

Radically Welcoming and Rural: The Opportunities of Diversity in the Rural Church

  • Participants shared their experiences with diversity in their rural context. The workshop was sponsored by the United church Rural Ministry Network. This workshop focused on the theme of diversity in the Rural Church, which can include immigrants as parishioners, ministers from other countries, LGBTQQ2SIA+ – anyone who identifies differently… How do rural communities embrace diversity?